They / Siya

inabel uytiepo
3 min readJul 24, 2021

My pronouns are they and siya. I will accept the pronouns she and he. I prefer they/siya, because it’s how I feel as a gender fluid person. It’s how I feel in my inner landscape.

Siya is a non-gendered pronoun in Tagalog used for all persons. Isuna is the equivalent non-gendered pronoun in Ilocano. Since I am primarily Ilocano, I would rather use that pronoun. However, since Tagalog is the common language associated with the islands known as the Phillippines, I currently go with siya. Because my ancestors used non-gendered pronouns, it is my way of claiming the wisdom of my ancestros. It feels right to me. It is my heritage, my inheritance.

Gender jailing people in general is way of reducing eachother for the sake of ease. I like to keep myself and others complicated. It helps me to develop more compassion and stay with truth. Staying with the complexity of how I experience myself or others is a wisdom practice for me. I understand others feel more comfortable with binaries, but it’s just that, comfort.

Although I consider myself pansexual, my gender fluidity is not about my sexuality. One can often feel sexual feelings even when not engaging in sexual actions, but gender fluidity is not about sex. As we know, some women have penises and some men have vaginas. It’s not about sex or organs. Gender fluidity is more energetic, subtle and spiritual than that.

--

--

inabel uytiepo

queer + ilocanx - chinese + deep collective care + somatic forgiveness + ancestral wayfinding + healingisgiving.com